Louis Delmas Interview!!

April 14, 2010

 

There was no question that the Detroit Lions’ safety, Louis Delmas had a successful rookie season!

He became the first rookie in league history and second player ever to score on an interception return, fumble return and a safety in one season. He also registered 79 tackles (54 solo) and scored more defensive points than any rookie in the NFL in 2009. He also won September’s rookie defensive player of the month award.

Despite all of his success on the field, Delmas still feels as though he has more to prove. He wants to help out the Haitian community. In an attempt to help out the country, Delmas will collaborate with his non-profit organization, We R Love, Inc. as well as the Athletic Department of WMU in order to host a BBQ event on Saturday, April 17, 2010. The event will begin immediately after the annual Brown & Gold Spring Game and will raise funds to assist with the relief efforts in Haiti.

As Delmas prepares to make his return back to Kalamazoo, Michigan this weekend, I had a word with him in an over-the-phone interview ranging on a host of different topics.

Eric Woodyard: What was the deciding factor that made you want to do an event like this?

Louis Delmas: First and foremost, once the crisis happened in Haiti I automatically thought in my head ‘I need to do something to support and just to give back.’ Being that I’m in the position that I’m in right now, I got a little bit of funds to where I can start a foundation just to get my name out there also. Once I heard the opportunity came up at Western being that they got a Spring game, I thought it would be a great idea just to get our name out there and just to let everybody know that the crisis that’s going on in Haiti is not over.

EW: I heard that you have a little Haitian background in you as well, was any of your own family affected from what was going on over there?

LD: Yeah and you know what man? A lot of my family was affected starting off with my grandma and a couple of my cousins. They was affected and we wasn’t able to get a hold of them yet and I don’t wanna put a bug in no one’s ear and say that they passed but reality is reality. But that did affect me and that’s why I said that it’s so important for me to spread the word out there that Haiti needs help.

EW: So obviously it’s a big difference from being a college student running around to now being in the NFL. What’s the biggest difference from transitioning from college to the NFL?

LD: To me the biggest difference was now instead of going to football practice and having to go straight from there to class and everything. Now it’s just straight football. So when I wake up in the morning, instead of going to class I go straight to football and when I’m done with football, I got straight to film. Then when I’m done with film, I go straight home and watch more film. So you eat and you use the rest room football. It’s all football all day and that was the biggest turnaround for me because I got to be a bit more focused now.

EW: So I don’t know if you remember last summer when I seen you down there on the practice facility when I was working with my intern.

LD: Aw yeah, Aw yeah. I appreciate that so much too man.

EW: I had ended up doing a story on you too about how you should have won the Defensive Rookie of the Year or at least got a few votes. So did that get to you at all to make you work even harder this off-season because you didn’t get the recognition that you deserved?

LD: Oh of course! I think it’s not my opinion that counts so I’m not the one throwing in votes and I’m not the one picking myself to go to the Pro-Bowl. It’s up to everybody else so obviously I didn’t prove to a lot of people that I could be a Pro-Bowl type Safety so of course that bugged me a little bit. I thought I did OK, not great so this off-season I had one thing in mind. Actually a couple days after my last game, I had one thing in mind and that’s to be the best Safety in the NFL. That’s been my goal since day one and I’m gonna keep trying to achieve my goal.

EW: Was it anything that shocked you like the speed of the game or anything in your first season?

LD: Man let me tell you; to be honest with you…people ask me that all the time. I tell people my transition from high school to college…high school was way faster than college!

EW: (laughs)

LD: Exactly! I guess playing football in Florida was just totally different. Then my transition from college to the NFL, college was way faster than the NFL. I guess being that people are bigger, faster, (and) stronger and once you get to that certain age than it’s not gonna be there anymore. It’s gonna be all about technique. Most of the guys that we play on this level are very old or not very old but got some numbers on them so they force their technique more than anything to be successful on the play so I think the transition from here to college is much slower but then again I have to be much more focused and not let anything slip past me. 

EW: Me and my boys used to watch all of the Detroit Lions games and we seen you lay out Chad Johnson and we seen you lay out Adrian Peterson. What was your favorite play or was there anything in general that was your favorite memory of your rookie season?

LD: I would have to say my hit on Chad. All week he was ripping and raving, telling me I gotta sit down because I’m a rookie and telling me that I need to be in my place and putting out these little jokes about Detroit Lions football. So I was just ready to get out there and play against him and I told myself ‘the minute he put his hands out there and try to catch that ball and I’m in his area? I’m gonna try my hardest to lay him out!’ So when he caught the ball and started running, I just seen my opportunity and I was like ‘I’m taking this one.’ So that was the most fulfilling hit.

EW: So getting back on the event, what’s the number one thing that you want the people to take from this event that you’re hosting this weekend?

LD: I just want everybody to know that this foundation is made for those lost in Haiti and still trying to support those in Haiti. It’s never gonna be enough with the little bit that we’re doing and with the stuff that other people are doing to rebuild Haiti and get them back in school and all that there. So I just want everybody to know that Haiti is not forgotten, even though the crisis happened a couple months ago. It’s still people down there that’s struggling and still need help so I just wanna get their name out there and help out as much as possible. Also, I just want the people out there to know that Louis Delmas is not only successful in football but also can be successful off the field. That’s involving media, helping people out, and holding camps…I wanna be as successful as possible.      

*This post can also be viewed on the Western Herald’s website!

 

One Response to “Louis Delmas Interview!!”

  1. Carlos Collins said

    Great story ! ! Wow, he lost his grand mother and other peeps in the disaster. That’s deep. He was bad to lay out AP ! ! Dude is a beast. I’m going to try to find that on YOUTUBE !! LOL

Leave a Reply

