VH1 star ‘Buckeey’ to speak at Wood Hall

April 12, 2010

Standing on the balcony of a mansion, two women nicknamed “Buckeey” and “Krazy” are engaged in a full-fledged argument. With the cameras rolling and millions of fans viewing on national television, the two then begin to get into an intense shoving match. 

With Buckeey getting the better end of the exchange, the fight is finally broken up after she nearly shoves Krazy to the ground. 

“You hit me, I hit you,” Buckeey explains to the cameras. “You touch me, I touch you!”

For some fans this may have served as the lasting impression of Shay Johnson, who starred on the hit reality show, “Flavor of Love 2.” Known as “Buckeey,” she got her first taste of the entertainment industry on VH1’s highest-rated show in the station’s history. This eventually opened the doors for several modeling opportunities as well as another role on a popular reality show known as “Charm School.”

Johnson will be making a visit to Western Michigan University to give students a first-hand account of all the hard work it took to get to that level. 

“A lot of people told me that I couldn’t get as far as I have and I’m not where I [want to] be but I’m still on the road to success and I just wanted to let women know that you can do anything you put your mind to,” Johnson said. “I was discouraged as a child because nobody really believed in me [or] that I would be able to do what I wanted to do, which was stay in the field of entertainment, but I accomplished my goal and I set another standard and I’m on the road to accomplishing that standard also.”

Johnson will be making her appearance at WMU for a free event hosted by WMU’s You Beautiful Black Women Organization billed as “Realities of Reality TV.” It will take place on Thursday, April 15 at 1301 Wood Hall from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.    

“We’re looking to bring a new understanding to what people actually think of women TV stars and a new understanding to how their image is portrayed in the media and how it has affected them as far as with their family and their career,” YBBW President Jwana Player said. 

Members of the audience will also be given the opportunity to ask Johnson questions as well as interact with her. Johnson hopes that this will help people get to know her as a person and not just a woman buried behind a unique nickname on a popular television show.

“Before you judge anybody, you should know them on a personal level or even on top of that just meet them because being in the industry, I’ve had a lot of stereotypes on me [and] on my name,” Johnson said. “I would just encourage everybody to come out and get to know me and hear my story before you judge me and I [guarantee] you will have a different identity on me and my life.”

*This post can also be viewed on the Western Herald’s website!

Leave a Reply

