Mark Ingram Jr. is the next!

October 20, 2009

mark ingram

I can remember it like it was yesterday!

It was a cold October night and I was home in Flint, Mich. for the weekend of my 19th birthday. After the grind of my sophomore year of college, I needed the break badly to spend some much needed time with my family.

While being home, the buzz about this transfer kid at my former high school, Flint Southwestern Academy, was the Carter 3 big. Comparisons to past greats flooded to town about this scholar and for the first time in my life, I saw fans just as excited about watching high school athletes throw the pigskin as they were watching them on the hardwood. This is rare in Flint…very rare.

Not easily convinced, I purchased a ticket and flocked into Atwood Stadium just like everyone else with my father to watch Flint Southwestern take on Flint Northern. In less than five minutes, I could quickly see why.

fswa ingramWearing the no. 7, the running back was not hard to spot because he kept Flint Northern looking silly while he danced in the end zone like Usher in his prime.  

Dazzling the crowd with his great footwork, breathtaking speed, and amazing strength he stood out like a sore thumb.

This was the first time that I saw Mark Ingram Jr. play.

He was a prodigy and destined for greatness.

I don’t know approximately how many yards he rushed for or how many touchdowns he scored but let’s just say that it was a hell of a lot of both. This was his senior year of high school, the year in which he went on to run for 1,700 yards and score 24 touchdowns. He also set city records for rushing yards (377) and touchdowns (7) in a game.

These performances only set us up for what he would go on to accomplish in college.

This past weekend he did it again!

Only this time, I was home for my 21st birthday.  I again needed a break badly to spend some much needed time with my family.

On Saturday, October 18, we were all in Mona’s nightclub on North Saginaw Street where we watched him absolutely annihilate the defense of South Carolina on ESPN. The same night that Flint native, Andre Dirrell fought Carl Froch for the Super Middleweight crown and was defeated from a questionable split decision, Ingram stole the show.   

Rushing for 246 yards, including a game-winning touchdown, Ingram has officially moved past Florida’s Tim Tebow as the new leader in the latest edition of the HeismanPundit.com Heisman Poll released on Tuesday (Oct. 20).

 Not bad huh?

ingram alabamaWearing the no. 22, the running back is now nationally rather easy to spot as he continues to keep defenders looking silly while he now dances in the end zone with the artistry of Mike Jackson in his prime.

At 5-10, 215 pounds and only in his sophomore season at the University of Alabama, Ingram truly has the chance to be what everyone in Flint thought he could (and would) be after that dominating prep senior season.

The next Barry Sanders. The next Adrian Peterson. The next LaDainian Tomlinson.

He is the next big thing.

Mark Ingram has those traits to be signature sneaker contract good! Future NFL-sponsored endorsements with Campbell’s Chunky Soup are highly possible with performances like his last one.  

As Ingram is only in the beginning of his tear on college football, remember I said it here that he will be the next big thing.

(My birthday was October 16th by the way and I’m still accepting presents)

*click on the pic to view this at It’s Just Sports!

4 Responses to “Mark Ingram Jr. is the next!”

  1. U are my favorite athlete.I would do anthing for your
    autograph.I didn’t care anything about football
    untl u started.’OH’ by the way i’ll be at the Penn
    State game.I’m looken for hiesman #2.Just keep on trucken.

  2. and i’m 9 yrs.old i’d like to hear from u.

  3. air jordan said

    February 17, 1963, a then common enough on the day, New York, Brooklyn, Harlem, where filled

    with street violence and drugs. A black family greeted the arrival of a little life, while the parents are

    happy for this little baby, while concerned about their families may not afford a fourth child support

    payments. But no one knows the baby grew up to change the world.

  4. […] Mark Ingram Jr. is the next! October 20093 comments 3 […]

Leave a Reply

